Most boring post ever, part 1

There’s just nothing like a food blog without pictures, is there? 

I know, it’s really boring.  Sorry about that.  I saw a re-run of The Simpsons last night, the one where Marge and the kids start a food blog.  In one scene, they are uploading photos from their little digital camera to the blog and… well, it was exactly what I do, too!  It was a little embarassing to look at this little blog from the outside.  It’s really just  a way to make myself write, but still.  I’m not a chef or a professional blogger, so sometimes it feels like everything I want to say has already been said by someone else.

I keep pondering the title of this blog, Two Eat For Ten, since I’m failing at my goal as often as I’m succeeding.  I wish there was a website that had a bunch of different menus that you could combine to make $10 a day, and then you could combine the different $10 days into one $70 week.  But that’s what this blog is supposed to be, you dummy!  I hiss at myself.  Oh yeah, that’s right, I reply.  To myself.

The thing is, it would be hard to create, say, a shopping list for the week that anyone could use and spend exactly $70.  Grocery stores, sales, and  coupons are all different, so it would have to be more of an approximation.  Plus, how do you account for all the food you already have in the house, like that half a bunch of asparagus in my fridge?

Gah.  It boggles the mind, doesn’t it?  No, it doesn’t, it just boggles your mind!

Well anyway, this is turning into the most useless post ever.  So – here’s what I bought today!  Yay!

  • 1/2 gallon almondmilk:  $2.79
  • Nature’s Path granola bars, $3.99, -$1 coupon: $3
  • Almondmilk single serve, on sale for $1, -$1 coupon = FREE
  • Salmon on sale for $5.99/lb:  $3.64
  • 3 bananas @ .55/lb: $.75
  • Bag of organic carrots:$1.29
  • One organic Fuji apple @ .99/lb:  $.38
  • Two organic pears @ .99/lb:  $.86

All that added up, plus tax, was $13.19.  Since we started having Easy Slaw a few nights a week, we’ve been going through an entire bag of carrots every week, which is pretty good! Stay tuned for more thrilling adventures at the grocery store.

3 Comments on “Most boring post ever, part 1”

  1. Paige says:

    Even if you can’t come up with perfect menus for a week under $70, it’s still nice to read about money saving ideas! I’m personally not trying to spend as little as you are, but I like seeing what you can do creatively with so little money. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    -Paige

    • Angela Nilles says:

      Thanks, Paige! I’m glad you read my blog 🙂 We still need to fly the kites you talked about on YOUR blog!! It’s so hard to stick to a budget… how are you doing with yours?

      • Paige says:

        Hehe, yes! I think I actually ended up throwing away my kite because it was broken, but I should really get another one now that the weather is getting nice again!

        I pretty much gave up on my blog, but I’m glad I gave it a shot. I totally failed at doing the 25 things before I turned 25, but I’m still hoping to do most of them *while* I’m 25…

        My budget isn’t to restrictive now that I’m working full time, but I’ll have to change that if I don’t get a job for next year… eek! I’m still using the envelope system for my budget, which is really helpful for me.


Leave a Reply

